What is UPSC? UPSC Exam Syllabus, Qualification

What is UPSC? UPSC Exam Syllabus, Qualification

Friends, if you want a government job related to civil service like Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Administrative Service (IAS), IFS, IRS, and other higher posts, then you have to pass the UPSC exam. After which you can do jobs in various civil service posts in the country, but for this, we need to know that, so through IAS Coaching in Dehradun, you can get success in the UPSC exam.

What is UPSC?

UPSC is the central organization of India, we can also call it a national agency, which conducts examinations for 24 posts for civil services. Every year lakhs of students prepare for the UPSC exam in the country, but due to limited posts in UPSC, only some good students are able to pass this exam, after passing the UPSC exam, you can join Indian Police. Services (IPS), Indian Administrative Service (IAS), IFS, IRS, and other higher posts can be employed.


What is the full name of UPSC?

What is the full name of UPSC? There is a Union Public Service Commission. It is an Indian organisation that conducts job examinations for various posts associated with the Civil Services.


There are three types of posts in UPSC.

All India Civil Services

Group A Civil Services

Group B Civil Services


All India Civil Services – There are three types of posts in All India Civil Services.

  • IAS which is called Indian Administrative Service.
  • IPS It is called Indian Police Service. And
  • IFS which is also known as Indian Forest Service.


Group A Civil Services – There are sixteen types of posts in Group A Civil Services.

  • Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
  • Indian Audit And Accounts – IAAS
  • Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS)
  • Indian Corporate Law Service (ICLS)
  • Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
  • Indian Defence Estates Service (IDES)
  • Indian information service (IIS)
  • Indian Ordnance Factories Service (LOFS)
  • Indian Communication Finance Service (ICFS)
  • Indian Postal Service (IPoS)
  • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)
  • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
  • Indian Railway Transport Service (IRTS)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS)
  • Indian Business Service (IBS)
  • Indian Railway Protection Force (IRPF)


Group B Civil Service – There are five types of posts in Group B Civil Service.

  • Sashastra Bal Headquarters Civil Service
  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Service – DANIPS (Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Service)
  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service – DANICS (Delhi, Andaman, and Nicobar Islands Civil Service)
  • Pondicherry civil service
  • Pondicherry Police


Qualifications for Exam:

You must have the following qualifications to appear for the UPSC exam.

  • If you are going to give the exam of IAS, IPS, IFS for Civil Services, then you must be an Indian citizen. Also you should have completed your graduation. For example: BA, B.sc, B.COM, B.Tech etc. have already done so.
  • The same should be 12th pass for NDA.


What is the age requirement for the UPSC exam?

GEN 21 -32 years can give exam 6 times.
OBC 21-35 years  can give the exam up to 9 times.
ST/SC 21-37 Years  UNLIMITED


How is the UPSC exam done?

Prelims Exam

Mains Exam



UPSC Prelims Exam Pattern:

First of all you have to clear the UPSC Prelims exam. After passing this exam, a merit list is prepared and those who are selected from this exam are invited to appear in the main exam. There are two papers in this exam whose pattern is something like this.

Under this exam, in the first paper, you are asked questions from General Studies (Indian Polity, Geography, History, Indian Economy, Science and Technology, Environment and Ecology, International Relations and Current Affairs. In the second paper, questions are asked from Reasoning and Analytical Reading. Questions like understanding, decision making etc. are asked.

Exam Total No. Of Question Total Number Time (Exam Time) Negative Marking Question Paper Types
General Studies Paper – 1 100  200 2 Hrs. Yes (One by Three) Objective Types
General Studies Paper – 2 (CSAT) 80 200 2 Hrs. Yes (One by Three) Objective Types


Mains Exam Pattern:

After passing the preliminary exam, you have to pass the UPSC Mains Exam, for this there are 9 papers, in which paper A and B are of 300-300 marks, the remaining 7 papers are of 250 marks. In which –

  • Paper A: Compulsory Indian Language
  • Paper B: English
  •  I : Essay
  • 2 : General Studies II
  • 3: General Studies-II
  • 4: General Studies- III
  • 5: General Studies – IV: Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude
  • 6 & 7: Optional Subject Paper I & II Candidates can choose any optional subject.



Candidates who clear the UPSC Mains exam are called for an interview, who have to answer questions from the senior selectors of the UPSC board. This interview is of 285 marks.

(Note – As you all know there are exams for 24 different types of posts under UPSC. In the same way, UPSC exam syllabus and exam pattern change from time to time on the basis of post. To know the correct information about the changes made in it, you must read the latest notification on the UPSC site.


Which book should I read to become an IAS?

  • M. Laxmikant – Political Science
  • Book written by Nitin Singhania (Culture)
  • Oxford School Atlas (Geography) by Oxford Publishers
  • Indian Economy written by Ramesh Singh (Economy)
  • Economic Survey by Ministry (Economy) etc.


I hope friends, what is the UPSC given to you in today’s post? How many posts are appointed in UPSC Who can give UPSC eligibility, Age limit for UPSC exam, What is the syllabus of UPSC exam? You would have got information about this.

One thought on “What is UPSC? UPSC Exam Syllabus, Qualification

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *